Home Press Center Press Releases  Press Release

Press Releases


LINTHICUM, MD, July 2, 2010–The American Urological Association (AUA) is pleased to announce that Datta G. Wagle, MD, chief of urology at Sisters of Charity Hospital, St. Joseph Campus in Buffalo, NY, has been named the 2010-2011 President of the AUA. Dr. Wagle assumed the position following the 2010 Annual Meeting of the Association, held in San Francisco, CA, last month.

As President and chief presiding officer, Dr. Wagle will be responsible for leading the activities of the AUA Board of Directors and its Executive Committee, as well as developing and implementing the Association’s strategic plan. He will also serve as an official ambassador to AUA Sections and various international organizations as part of the AUA’s International Education Plan, as well as other medical organizations. In addition, Dr. Wagle will represent the Association in communicating AUA policy or position statements in relation to government affairs, public media, medical and other organizational activities. He will also be involved in numerous AUA Committees including the Awards, International Relations, Judicial & Ethics, Strategic/Long-Range Planning and Public Media committees, to name a few. 

As President, Dr. Wagle will also be responsible for a number of activities surrounding the AUA Annual Meeting, including presiding over the Plenary Session, conducting the AUA Board Meeting and Annual Business Meeting, as well as attending industry activities and social events. 

Previously President-Elect, Dr. Wagle served as the Northeastern Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors from 2005-2009. He is a past president of the Northeastern Section of the AUA, American Association of Clinical Urologists, New York State Urological Society, Medical Society of the County of Erie, St. Joseph's Hospital Medical Staff and the Buffalo Urological Society. He was also the National Chairman of UROPAC, urology’s political action committee, for four years. He is also a member of 21 national and international organizations and has served on 15 different medical boards and 79 various committees. Dr. Wagle has been honored with numerous awards for his work, including the Northeastern Section of the AUA’s Distinguished Service Award in 1999, the Dr. G.M. Phadke Memorial Oration Award from the Annual Conference of the Urological Society of India, and the St. Joseph Hospital Foundation’s Caritas Award for community service. 

Dr. Wagle received his urology training at Roswell Park Memorial Institute and the Cleveland Clinic. 

Please contact AUA Communications at 410-689-3932 or to schedule an interview with AUA President Datta G. Wagle, MD.

About the American Urological Association: Founded in 1902 and headquartered near Baltimore, Maryland, the American Urological Association is the pre-eminent professional organization for urologists, with more than 16,000 members throughout the world. An educational nonprofit organization, the AUA pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards of urologic care by carrying out a wide variety of programs for members and their patients.

AUA Communications, AUA