Home Press Center Press Releases  Press Release

Press Releases


LINTHICUM, MD, April 29, 2009--The American Urological Association (AUA) today announced the following new officers and members of the Board of Directors:


President: Anton J. Bueschen, MD, previously served as the Southeastern Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors. Formerly the director of the Division of Urology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) beginning in 1975, he is now professor emeritus of urology at UAB. Dr. Bueschen also served on the board of directors of the former American Foundation for Urologic Disease (currently the AUA Foundation).


President-elect: Datta G. Wagle, MD, previously served as the Northeastern Section representative to the AUA Board of Directors. He is currently the chief of urology at both St. Joseph Hospital and Sisters of Charity Hospital in Buffalo, NY. He has served as president of the American Association of Clinical Urologists, the Northeastern Section of the AUA, New York State Urological Society, Medical Society of the County of Erie, St. Joseph's Hospital Medical Staff and the Buffalo Urological Society.


Immediate past president: John M. Barry, MD, the 2008-2009 AUA president, will continue to sit on the Board of Directors as immediate past president. Dr. Barry is the director of kidney transplantation at Oregon Health and Science University, where he was chief of the Division of Urology and Renal Transplantation for 29 years. He is also a past president of the American Board of Urology and served as president of the Western Section of the AUA in 2002.

Secretary: Robert C. Flanigan, MD, has served on the Board as secretary since 2006. He is a professor and chair of urology at the Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, IL. He is also the governor of the American College of Surgeons. His other appointments include serving as the first president of the Society of Urologic Chairpersons and Program Directors and president of the American Board of Urology, the Society of Urologic Oncology, the Society of University Urologists, the Society of Pelvic Surgeons, the North Central Section of the AUA and the Chicago Urological Society.


Secretary-elect: Glenn M. Preminger, MD, has served as the AUA’s chair of education for the past three years. He is a practicing urologist and director of the Comprehensive Kidney Stone Center at Duke University Medical Center. He is also the director of the Urology Residency Program at Duke University Medical Center. He is a member of numerous professional societies and serves on several editorial boards for medical journals, including The Journal of Urology®. He is currently chairman of the AUA Nephrolithiasis Guidelines Panel and chair of the AUA Office of Education.


Treasurer: Richard A. Memo, MD, previously served as the North Central Section representative to the Board of Directors. He is a practicing urologist at NEO Urology Associates, Inc. in Youngstown, OH. He is also a past president of the Ohio Urological Society.


Historian: Sakti Das, MD, a former member of the AUA History Committee and historian for the Western Section, will serve his fourth year as AUA historian. He was a staff urologist at Northern California Kaiser Permanente for 20 years and is retired from teaching urology from the University of California, Davis. In addition to the AUA, Dr. Das is a member of the Northern California Urological Society and the Indian American Urological Association.


The AUA would like to welcome the following Section representatives to its Board of Directors:

David F. Green, MD, FACS, has replaced Richard K. Babayan, MD, as the New England Section representative. Dr. Green is a practicing urologist and incontinence specialist. He is also the chief medical officer (CMO) and senior vice president of medical affairs for Concord Hospital in Concord, NH. Dr. Green is currently on the Concord Regional VNA Board of Trustees and was previously a member of the Concord Hospital Board of Trustees.


Dennis A. Pessis, MD, has replaced Richard A. Memo, MD, as the North Central Section representative. Dr. Pessis is a practicing urologist and full professor at Rush University Medical Center and associate chairman of the Department of Urology at Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center in Chicago, IL. He is also an attending physician at Lake Forest Hospital. He has held numerous positions with local, regional and national medical societies, including the AUA and the North Central Section, for which he served as Treasurer, President and member of countless committees.


Kevin Pranikoff, MD, has replaced Datta Wagle, MD, as the Northeastern Section representative. Dr. Pranikoff is a practicing urologist and clinical director of urology at the Erie County Medical Center (ECMC) and associate professor of urology at the University at Buffalo. Dr. Pranikoff has served as president of both the Geriatric Urological Society and the Buffalo Urological Society Board of Directors. He serves as a member of the Board of Directors for the ECMC and the ECMC Lifeline Foundation. He is also a member of the Governing Board of the University at Buffalo Faculty Practice Management Plan.


A complete list of Board members is available at www.AUAnet.org. Full biographies and headshots are available upon request. Contact Lacey Dean at 410-689-4054 for more information about the AUA Board of Directors or to schedule an interview.


About the American Urological Association: Founded in 1902 and headquartered near Baltimore, Maryland, the American Urological Association is the pre-eminent professional organization for urologists, with more than 16,000 members throughout the world. An educational nonprofit organization, the AUA pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards of urologic care by carrying out a wide variety of programs for members and their patients.

Lacey Dean, AUA